soybean field

USSEC Congratulates New ASA Officers

USSEC congratulates the newly elected American Soybean Association (ASA) officers.
Ron Moore, a soybean farmer from Roseville, Illinois and a former USSEC director, assumed the role of ASA president at the organization's annual winter meeting last week in St. Louis. Mr. Moore served as ASA's vice president throughout 2016, and per the structure of the organization, the vice president moves into the president's role for the following year.
"The industry faces many challenges and many opportunities in the year to come, and I am excited to tackle all of them," Mr. Moore stated. "As we work to advance farmer priorities on our most important issues like trade, biotechnology and others, I look forward to drawing on the multiple talents of our dedicated board of directors to continue our success for soybean farmers."
Elected to fill the role of ASA vice president is John Heisdorffer, a farmer from Keota, Iowa and current USSEC director, placing him in line to become ASA's President in 2018. Mr. Heisdorffer previously served as ASA secretary.
"This is an organization that, as it approaches its 100th anniversary, only becomes more impactful and more important as a voice for farmers," Mr. Heisdorffer said. "We've come very far, but there is still so much work to do to make sure that all soybean farmers have the policy and regulation and market conditions in place to succeed. I am excited to work over the coming years to see that through."
Richard Wilkins, who farms in Greenwood, Delaware, and served in 2016 as ASA's president, now moves to the role of chairman, and outgoing chairman Wade Cowan of Brownfield, Texas, rotates off the governing committee. Davie Stephens, of Wingo, Kentucky, will serve a third consecutive term as ASA's secretary, and Bill Gordon, of Worthington, Minnesota, was elected to the position of ASA treasurer.
Bret Davis, of Delaware, Ohio; Kevin Scott, of Valley Springs, South Dakota; Sam Butler, of New Hope, Alabama; and Eric Maupin, of Dyersburg, Tennessee, were elected as at-large members of ASA's governing committee.
The ASA board also honored retiring directors Mike Cunningham, of Illinois; Ray Gaesser and Mark Jackson, of Iowa; Kevin Hoyer and Dan Roe, of Wisconsin; Ted Glaub, of Arkansas; Lance Peterson, of Minnesota; and Wyatt Whitford, of North Carolina.
ASA welcomed new directors Stan Born, of Dunlap, Illinois; Brad Doyle, of Weiner, Arkansas; Morey Hill, of Madris, Iowa; Brian Kemp, of Sibley, Iowa; Brad Kremer, of Pittsville, Wisconsin; Kurt Krueger, of Rothsay, Minnesota; Don Lutz, of Scandinavia, Wisconsin; Brian Ogletree, of Milner, Georgia; Bill Raben, of Ridgeway, Illinois; Rob Shaffer, of El Paso, Illinois; and Jimmy Thomas, of Timberlake, North Carolina.
USSEC welcomes the new ASA officers and looks forward to continuing its partnership with ASA to further the mission of the U.S. Soy family.