soybean field

USSEC Congratulates New ASA Officers


USSEC would like to congratulate the newly elected American Soybean Association (ASA) officers.
ASA held its winter board meetings in St. Louis last week with the ASA Board of Directors confirming Richard Wilkins, from Greenwood, Delaware, as its newest President. Outgoing President Wade Cowan of Brownfield, Texas, moves to the position of Chairman. Board members also elected Ron Moore of Roseville, Illinois, to serve as First Vice President, which places him in line to be the association’s president in 2017.
“I’m honored to serve as president of this wonderful team of farmers, and I’m excited to move forward with what is a very full agenda for the year,” said Mr. Wilkins.
“These are an extremely important next few years for our industry,” Mr. Moore stated. “The soybean industry and agriculture as a whole will need continuity and strength in its leadership, and I’m excited to continue that here at ASA.”
Also elected to form ASA’s nine-member governing committee were Secretary John Heisdorffer from Keota, Iowa; and At-Large Governing Board Members Bret Davis of Delaware, Ohio; Kevin Hoyer of West Salem, Wiscosin; Kevin Scott of Valley Springs, South Dakota; and Sam Butler of New Hope, Alabama. Current Treasurer Davie Stephens of Wingo, Kentucky was elected to serve a second term in the same position.
Outgoing chairman Ray Gaesser of Corning, Iowa will rotate off the ASA governing committee but will remain on the ASA board for the remainder of his term as director.
“Helping to guide this organization has been a real joy for me, and I am proud of how far we’ve come,” said Mr. Gaesser, whose ASA presidency was marked by the successful passage of the 2014 Farm Bill.
“Ray deserves a great deal of credit for the strong advocacy ASA has provided for soybean farmers over the last three years, and we’re a better organization for it,” said Mr. Wilkins.
ASA’s meeting also served as a venue to celebrate the retirements of former president Steve Wellman of Nebraska, former treasurer Bob Henry of Kansas, and directors Dennis Bogaards of Iowa, John Rivers of South Carolina and Walter Godwin of Georgia.
Assuming positions on the Board as new members at the meeting are Charles Atkinson of Kansas, Cliff Barron of South Carolina, Ken Boswell of Nebraska, and Dean Coleman of Iowa. The meeting also represents the first ASA meeting for directors Pam Snelson of Oklahoma, and Steve Yoder, Jr., of Florida.
USSEC welcomes the new ASA officers and looks forward to continuing its work with ASA to further the mission of the U.S. Soy family.